Review Dying Light

Published February 20, 2016 by makeuponatightbudget

Hey guys, i”ve been watching another Let’s Play. I’v been hearing a lot about Dying Light especially since the expansion came out last week. I decided to watch the first part of it and see what exactly it was all about. If anyone wonders why I don’t just do the Let’s Plays on my own it’s because I don’t have a PS4, my laptop doesn’t have enough memory and I don’t have money, haha. I don’t mind watching other people play either. I think it’s fun seeing what other people do and what you would do differently. Of course I watched theRadBrad do the Let’s Play. I mentioned before he’s isn’t as annoying with voice over stuff (the main reason that turns me away from let’s Plays). He doesn’t play as well as some others, which can bug some people, I know it bugs me sometimes, especially with this game when he’s close to an airdrop and doesn’t pick it up.

Anyway, Brad was given the game in December of 2014 I believe, the game didn’t come out until January of 2015 so the first 6 or so episodes follow the main storyline until you get to Rais, then he does a couple side missions which are a little weird (Mother’s Day) before he’s allowed to do the full campaign. Obviously with this post I will be talking about things within the game. I won’t really do a full explanation of stuff, just wanted to do some over all reviewing but there will be some spoilers.

So storywise I think it’s fairly interesting. there’s a lot of back and forth stuff with having to do missions for Rais, the people at the tower, Spike, Dr. Zere, etc. The missions themselves don’t seem as fulfilling as the cutscenes which of course let you go more in depth with the characters. The missions just seem like missions, basic “I need to get this or I need you to do this so we don’t die because of these zombies” stuff. So i find that a bit lackluster. My two favorite parts of the storyline was definitely the Demolisher boss battle and Crane cutting off Rais’s hand as then when you have to go and rescue Jade. Those two scenes in particular really had me on the edge of my seat and I was wondering exactly what would happen next. The weird floating school thing with Jade was okay mostly because you can see like the virus taking over your brain but you don’t really know if Crane is passed out and dreaming or really walking into random places and he’s not aware because he’s trying to find Jade. The end battle of course wasn’t as thrilling. I mean in a game full of zombies when 2 humans fight it won’t be as scary or thrilling. Techland tried to make up for this I think by adding in the quick time events to try and keep up the suspense. I think as a player it would be frustrating since you have to button smash but it seemed rather lack luster. Overall I think there were some good plot twists and decent character deaths, this is also the first form of zombie media I’ve seen that actually comes close to a cure. There’s always talk of cure but this ending in particular makes it seem like it’s real.

Gameplay is thankfully more interesting than watching an FPS. I tried watching F.E.A.R. and I basically gave up because watching it is so boring (the storyline is interesting however). It’s got a lot of melee weapons and fewer guns, which I think is cool because if you’re traveling by yourself there wouldn’t be a lot of guns lying around anyway. My favorite melee weapon was the Heavy Rebar (sucks on stamina but kills easily) and Tahir’s Weapon (easier on the stamina and does a lot of decapitations.) There’s also a variety of physical actions like sliding, dropkicks, and stomps that you can acquire with the skill points. The skill points weren’t so bad, they definitely helped in the game and imprved your character. As for the scenery and stuff, I like that it’s open world and every section has great textures. The realism is a little ehh at times but overall I think it’s pretty amazing. The colors are really nice, especially for a crumbling Turkish town. There’s a lot of neutral colors but subtle things that make it pop such as the graffiti, water, and tunnels. The parkour aspect is very huge in this game, hell one of the main characters, Brecken, was a parkour instructor before the outbreak. I think it’s interesting, not my favorite since only a few of the zombies can climb and go after you so most of the action is down below. It’s great for when you’re doing things at night because you DEFINITELY need to avoid them them since about 2 or 3 new zombies only come out at night. The stamina part is an amazing addition but i can tell if I actually played it I would hate the hell out of this feature. It adds to the realism immensely but it sucks big time when you’ve got 3 or 4 zombies around you and your stamina is at zero. Some other amazing additions that are probably really annoying for gameplay is when you come out of the water your screen is all wet and blurs your vision, the blood on your face from when you camoflauge yourself with zombie guts is weird because it’s like you have blood in your eye, and the seizure parts since Crane becomes infected. Sometimes the seizures happen at the worst time and I just yell at the screen like C’MON NOT NOW! The seizure parts add suspense because it takes awhile for Crane to recover and your vision gets all blurry.

So let’s talk zombies. This is the only game or form of media that I think i’ve seen that actually refers to zombies as zombies. Sure they have their former name of Volitiles but there has been several instances where Crane says zombies. It makes me think that maybe there was zombie media and entertainment before the outbreak, you know like in real life. I kind of like that aspect as well. The zombies in this game are really itneresting too. I always like seeing how  each franchise no matter in books, movies, or video games adds their own spin to zombies. Dying Light has their weakness against UV rays, Bombers which are similar to Bloaters in The Last of Us (mostly in the sense that they are large, very mutated, and can damage you with their explosion). The only thing is that as soon as you get close enough they start wanting to explode and in about 3-5 seconds they can cause major damage. The good news is that unlike Bloaters, as soon as they explode (and they do so on their own) they’re dead, so you don’t have to have a big battle with them. Toads are weird because they remind me of like…if stereotypical fedora lords that lived in their mother’s basements got infected. I think it’s their dumb little backpacks, lol. I haven’t gotten far enough to see if there is any explanation provided as to why toads ended up looking like, well, toads. Obviously they all mutate (which is another cool thing about these zombies) but I want to know why.

As for characters, Crane is the same for every video game. 30-ish, white man who has to save the day, blah blah. What I do like is that this takes place in Turkey, and there are Middle Eastern people everywhere. We even have Dr. Zere who may be from a different place (I’m thinking England? He sounds a little british?) but is a person of color. And I like how they got Middle Eastern people to voice Middle Eastern characters. Jade I think has a lot of potential that I haven’t seen yet. Her face I feel is the most realistic out of all of them but I want to know why she wears makeup if it’s the apocalypse. Like, come on, people. Lena I don’t think wears makeup (i haven’t seen that many close ups of her) and she’s still smart and useful (-ish, there’s not that much of her either). Rahim was, well annoying. He played the annoying little brother role well and when he died I was like good. You were fucking stupid, reckless, and thought you could do shit, when the adults told him that he shouldn’t have. I feel old writing that lol. But Rahim was no skin off my nose. Another thing is that I’m not connecting to these characters as much as I connect to the others in zombie games(ellie in TLOU, Michone in TWD, Clem in TWD game, etc). I think Jade seems to be the most interesting and I think that’s because she’s a kick boxer so I know she’s badass. I just haven’t seen it yet. I was pretty upset when she was bitten and on the verge of death. I think that was like the only time that i felt emotion towards a character in this game. I think Crane over all learned from his mistakes and was trying to do the right thing but I can’t help but to think that most of this stuff was his fault. Eventually towards the end of the game I started liking him more and more, especially with the little quips he had towards Rais. Overall i don’t think he was a bad character just not as dynamic.

So pros: day and night cycle, with night time adding increased difficulty and new zombies that only appear at night, different weapon options that aren’t just guns (but why are there elemental throwing stars?), you don’t have to fight all the zombies and they’re more like obstacles but when they pursue you it can be scary, the storyline is more hopeful especially with the cure and Antizin being introduced, gore factor in nice.

Cons: Missions are pretty straight forward, there’s more traveling than doing things, the faces are animated a bit weird and the lip movement/talking animation doesn’t looks as real as it could be. There are some glitches with the zombies bouncing back and forth, floating body parts and getting stuck in scenery. Missions are kind of boring, traveling takes up too much time, 2 boss battles, not enough battles with the zombies (you mostly avoid them)

The common rating for this game is a 7-8 out of 10 and I would have to agree. It’s not bad but it could be a little bit better. I think it’s got some great parts to it. I’m hoping that with the Dying Light:The Following addition it will be even better and some of these things will be fixed and that we may get to see different characters get involved with the zombies more. It’s on my next thing to watch. I don’t think I would buy it for $60 on Steam though. I would definitely wait for a price drop. The game may have 20 hours (or so) on it but i don’t think it’s worth $60.

Alright guys, hope you enjoyed the review, I’ll be back once I get done watching the expansion! See you soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

