My Experience: Melanie Martinez Concert

Published August 1, 2016 by makeuponatightbudget

Recently I went to a Melanie Martinez concert at the Cleveland House of Blues. The HOB isn’t my favorite venue as it’s General Admission and I’m short. It’s hard for me to see things and see over people. I much prefer having seats because at least the levels are graduated and if possible I can stand on the seats to see things better. I made an entire post about my outfit and makeup at my beauty blog which you can visit here.

I thought the doors opened at 6 pm so my friend and I decided to leave around 4:30 or so. I live about a little over an hour from Cleveland. We actually ended up leaving at 4 pm and arriving at around 5:30. This was both a good thing and a bad thing because there was already a line to get in (and of course because it’s Gen Admission, where you are in line matters) around the corner from the doors. People had been lining up probably around 3 or 4 pm, some maybe earlier than that. My friend paid the extra 20 bucks to park in the parking garage that was down the street from the venue. We were kind of concerned about walking to the car at night in Cleveland so we were glad to find a space in the garage. Where we were in line wasn’t too bad and the line kept on getting longer and longer. The show was completely sold out. And on top of that there was an Indians game that very day too. Tuesday was such a weird day to have a concert.

I ended up standing for more than 2 hours outside. I didn’t want to sit down and get anything on my dress and I wore 3 or 4 in boots because they were the only shoes I had that matched. They’re comfortable shoes but standing in one spot for a long period of time goes straight to my heels and makes my feet hurt so bad. Apparently the doors didn’t open until 7pm, so like I said blessing and a curse that we got there early.

Eventually we got into the venue and I didn’t really get a good spot. I could barely see. Almost everyone in the audience was a teenager, with braces, and being overly excited and vlogging about the experience. I hate that her main fanbase is literally 12-18 year olds. It made me and my friend feel like we were the only two adults there voluntarily, while the other adults were like…parents watching their children. On top of that all these stupid teenage girls were freakishly tall and I couldn’t see a damn thing. By the time we actually got into the venue my feet were killing me. During the opening act, which was Handsome Ghost (some hipster neo emo group I’ve never heard of but were actually pretty decent) I took off my shoes and just stayed barefoot until Melanie came on. The cool thing was that during the break between sets the HOB staff handed out plastic cups of water to the concert goers for free. It was a really hot day and all of us were crowded in such a small space. The water was ice cold and ridiculously refreshing and appreciated. I thought this was really cool of the HOB to do. The bar also set out small cups of water for people to take freely.

Around 8 o clock or so Melanie’s set started. There was like a 3-5 minute intro that seemed to last forever. I didn’t actually get to see her when she popped out the crib but the HOB Cleveland page actually posted it.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FHOBCleveland%2Fvideos%2F10154609771030579%2F&show_text=0&width=560

Like I said I’m too short and was struggling to see most things. I had to experience half the concert through other people’s cellphones. Melanie doesn’t talk much in between songs so she preformed the whole concert in almost complete silence. She said a few things here and there though. Everyone sang along of course. My absolute favorite song is Pity Party and I was so ecstatic to hear it live. I capture a few good videos on my phone actually and posted them to my Instagram.

Ok so like my phone captured this pretty decently so enjoy #cake #melaniemartinez #hobcleveland

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

🛀🛀🛀#icantfindthesoapemoji #isthereasoapemoji #melaniemartinez #hobcleveland

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

Let me tell you #pacifyher is like in my top 3 #melaniemartinez #hobcleveland

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

D-O-L-L-H-O-U-S-E #melaniemartinez #hobcleveland

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

I didnt cry even though this is my absolute fave song…so thats good #pityparty #melaniemartinez #hobcleveland

A post shared by Spooky (@spookyboogie13) on

I think her performance was really good, there was only a few issues with the mic like make once or twice where feedback came out and she seemed to be always fixing her ear piece but I think she always does that. I’m not sure. I thought her outfit was so cute! I would wear it myself. Vocally I think she sounded great! She moves around a little awkwardly but Melanie is an awkward person. Her songs aren’t really dance songs either so it’s not going to be like JLo doing an entire dance number. I think it’s part of her charm and her realism.

Before the encore songs there was a random gap in the crowd and I was wondering why no one was filing it. I decided to step up and found out the hard way that it was because someone had puked and of course no one wanted to step in it. I think i stepped in it a little but it didn’t get all over my shoes, didn’t really make my shoes smell and after not being close enough to see Melanie clearly throughout the entirety of the concert I really didn’t care. The smell in general was pretty much masked and I didn’t find it to be a big deal. Everyone else of course was grossed out by it and my friend insisted that when I got into her car I set my shoes on a plastic bag. Which i get but my shoes weren’t covered in vomit. I barely stepped in it actually. She was so worried that she was going to catch some sickness or disease from it and I was like ok you’re overreacting a bit. We eventually stopped at a gas station and I  wiped the soles of my shoes with some soap and water then washed my hands twice, just so she wouldn’t complain or anything.

What I didn’t like was that even with the 2 encore performances of Gingerbread Man and Cake the entire concert was like an hour and a half (not including the break between for set up) and Melanie’s set was only 1 hour. It felt like it was over as soon as it started. I assume this might be due to 1. She doesn’t talk much or interact and 2. she only has one album out and she did play almost the entirety of it. Once she creates another album I’m sure the concerts will be a bit longer. I would love to go see her again when she comes to town with new music and hopefully she might be in a bigger venue (or at least one with seats). After the concert was over I went to check the line for merch but it was all over the place and Hot Topic has a decent selection of her stuff for cheaper. So I just passed on that and instead went home. After standing 5 and a half hours I just wanted to lay down and sleep.

This was my first concert of the summer and the first one I had been to since October of last year. It wasn’t perfect but I enjoyed myself. This was much better than the concert I had later on in the week but more on that later.

Leave a Reply

